Growing Money

If your godmother generously gives you a crisp £100 note as an impromptu gift the correct thing to do is invest it wisely. Some would choose to invest it in a savings account, others would buy gold and diamonds. But sticking with the adage that where there’s muck there’s brass I invested in worms. Yes that’s right, worms. I trust she approved for it was she that introduced me to the concept of vermicomposting.

If you can be trusted with power tools you could make your own very cheaply but I can’t even be trusted with hand tools so I bought a ready-made version.

??????????

In my first garden it was tucked away between the shed and the willow and was a bother to reach without getting scratched or soaked depending on season and weather. In its first winter on the allotment the lid was blown off in the storms never to be seen again. Fortunately replacement parts are available and now it’s sitting safely next to the garden door where it is easy to reach from the cottage kitchen even at night. But just to be on the safe side I’ve put a heavy slab on the lid this time.

All my kitchen scraps go in there, veg peelings, tea bags and coffee grounds, they seem to really enjoy rice and I’ve recently introduced cheese to their diet in the form of leftover cheesy risotto. They also appreciate eggshells and shredded paper or torn cardboard, however they’re not particularly fond of onions or citrus.

They take all these kitchen scraps and turn them into lovely compost/plant food including a yummy {for plants} worm tea. There’s a sump tray at the bottom of the wormery which has a tap to release the worm tea but I was so worried that I would forget to open it and inadvertently drown my worms that I keep the tap open all the time with a small watering can underneath to catch the tea. I dilute the tea in a large watering can before watering the pots during warm or dry spells.

??????????

 

Eco friendly organic compost and feed can be stupidly expensive so although I don’t earn any interest on my investment it does save me a small fortune every year. My godmother and I don’t live near each other so I don’t see her very often and I’ve not been the best god-daughter at keeping in contact but it will be her birthday soon so this is my way of saying ‘thanks heaps, thinking off you!’  xxxxx

2 thoughts on “Growing Money

  1. Terrific Naomi, In the summer I have old cotton material over the wormery and kept wet to keep them cool in the winter that will go directly on top of them to keep them warm and give them something to munch on should they be extra hungry. The citrus and stuff that is a bit ‘ify’ I put into the compost heap along with all the garden waste and the worms in there can always keep clear of what they don’t like. Great to hear you are enjoying your little wormies. Lots of Love, xxxx

    • Top tip! I’ve yet to start a compost heap in the Secret Garden. I do have one or two potential spots in mind but there’s still lots of clearing to be done before I can see the garden in all it’s glory and only then will I be in a position to make that decision

Leave a Reply

