A Trio of Trees

“A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.”

Greek Proverb

My first garden was small and dark, north facing and overshadowed by an apartment block it was always damp and so I planted a miniature willow. It matured into a thing of beauty but sadly I had to leave it behind when I moved.

??????????

However I did bring this little bay tree with me to the Secret Garden from my old allotment and I think it looks very happy in a fat little pot in this sunny corner at the foot of the stairs.

??????????

I also brought with me my plum-tree which has temporarily been potted into a container until I manage to clear a space in the garden to plant it properly. The pot it’s in is large enough to contain it for at least a year and positioned as it is against a sunny wall should make it very happy.

But my favourite tree of all {though it’s fair to say the removal men weren’t so fond of it} is my corkscrew hazel.

??????????

The branches form a living sculpture and even in the depths of winter the shadows cast by its gnarled branches add interest and depth to the garden, seen here against the garden wall and the plum-tree pot…

??????????

and here against the potting bench* {before the plum-tree was transplanted}

herbs

And nestled at the base of the trunk is a delightful fairy door handmade for me by my wonderfully talented friend Val…

??????????

They say that the best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago…the second best time is now. So what are you waiting for?

*a rather fancy term for an old pine chest of drawers that I spray pained gold and added cut glass handles too which I now use for storing all sorts of gardening gibbles

Leave a Reply

