Zen and the Art of Gardening

Is it a sin to covet a Buddha?

When my son was in high school he worked part-time in a local garden centre, a proper garden centre not one of those gaudy chain stores selling a lifestyle. As a member of staff he was given a discount on all purchases but even with that discount the Buddha was still way out of my price reach.

Panic buy.

Every visit to the centre I admired him and when my son left for university {knowing that I would lose the discount} I panicked and reached a bit further!

And I am so glad I did as he has graced every garden that we have shared….

Bluebell Buddha

bluebell buddha

Welcome to our allotment

welcome to our allotment

Buddha’s new spot

buddha

For me gardening is Zen, an exercise in mindfulness. As I work I slowly shed all external distractions as I become absorbed by the garden. Exercise with a purpose it is beneficial for mind, body and soul. Everyone should have a garden.

2 thoughts on “Zen and the Art of Gardening

Leave a Reply

